PNG Election 2022 Counting Results

2 Min Read
NGE 2022 Counting Results
NGE 2022 Counting Results

PNG Election 2022 Counting Results. As the PNG elections enter the counting phase, we will provide a daily’summary update’ of the declared candidates and party affiliations leading up to the formation of the 11th parliament.

Open electorates MPs Declared

  • Pomio Open declared 18 July 2022 – Elias Kapavore, Peoples National Congress (PNC) Party (polled 11, 949 first preference votes)
  • Magarima Open declared 18 July 2022 – Manasseh Makiba Pangu Pati (votes received 20, 753)
  • Lae Open declared 17 July 2022 – John Rosso  Pangu Pati (first preference votes 26,864)
  • Tari Pori declared 10 July 2022– James Marape Pangu Pati (first preference votes 39,877)

Provincial seats Declared

PNG Election 2022 Counting Updates
PNG Election 2022 Counting Results


  • Hela – Philip Undialu, Pangu Pati 118, 113 vote.

Leading Political Party Candidates Tally

  • Pangu Pati (Leader – James Marape) x4 declared
  • People’s National Congress, PNC (Leader – Peter O’Neill) x1 declared

PNG Election 2022 Counting Results

As of the 18th July 2022, nine provinces in the country have so far completed polling. 
They are:
  1. Hela, 
  2. National Capital District, 
  3. Eastern Highlands, 
  4. Southern Highlands, 
  5. East New Britain, 
  6. West New Britain, 
  7. Milne Bay, New Ireland and 
  8. Manus.
Counting for Hela province completed, winners were declared except for Koroba-Lake Kopiago Open.
Other provinces are in the polling phase.
Simbu and Western Highlands are the last provinces to go into polling. It starts on Monday 18th July 2022. Only 8 days for polling and counting for these two provinces.
Election Results PNG:
Share this Article